Why I’m a Nanny

I  decided that it was time to tell you all why I  became a nanny.

IMG 1672

When I was in high school, I went back and forth on what I wanted to do after I graduated. For a while, I was planning on going to college and getting a degree. I thought about being a dietician, a personal trainer, a psychologist, a counselor, a nurse, and an interior designer. I couldn’t find something that I could stick with.  My other problem was finances. I made the decision that I didn’t want to take out student loans. I felt that God wanted me to remain debt free so that I would have the freedom to do whatever He wanted me too in the future and not be constrained by finances. I am smart and I worked hard in school and received very good grades. However, I am not a great standardized test taker and I didn’t get a super high ACT score. I would’ve been able to get some scholarships, but not enough to cover the cost of school.

For months, I tried to figure out what I wanted to do, where I should attend college, and how to pay for it. I went over it and over it in my mind.  Things never fell into place. I was stressed out and I didn’t know what to do.

Finally, I just gave up. I told God that I was done trying to plan my life and I was going to wait for Him to show me. It felt good to give that burden to God. I felt at peace, it was still difficult to not know what I was doing when my classmates were getting accepted into college and planning for the fall.

Some time went by and I started thinking about jobs that I could get without very much training. I thought about being a medical assistant or an office assistant. I even thought about starting an online business selling crafts.

Then, one day, I thought about being a nanny. I thought: “I love children, I’m organized, I like to play, I’m responsible…” and the list went on. I could imagine myself taking care of kids all day and I could imagine enjoying it and finding it fulfilling.

IMG 2511

I signed up on Care.com and Sittercity, wrote out my resume, and began looking for jobs. I applied for many positions and never heard back from the families. I did go to several interviews and I picked up a few babysitting jobs and through referral, I got a part-time summer nanny position. Throughout the summer, I continued to interview with families for full-time positions. On my last Friday with my summer family, I got the full-time job I am working at. God orchestrated each and every detail. I am so thankful!!

Every day isn’t tons of fun, but I love my job and I’m so happy! I love snuggles in the morning, craft time, playdates with friends, making meals, cleaning rooms, learning ABC’s, reading, and exploring the world with little minds! It is so much fun to spend my days with two special little people!!

Sometimes, I still struggle with feeling like I’m worth less than my college going peers because I’m not following the expected pattern of high school graduates. I still get questions about what do I “really” want to do for the rest of my life or when will I be going to college. Some people don’t understand where I’m coming from and that’s okay. We all have our own ideas and opinions. This is God’s plan for me and I know that what I am doing is right for me and that is what ultimately matters.

I’m not sure what the future holds. I do hope that some day I can have a family of my own enjoy exploring the world with my kids! At some point, I may go to college or change careers, but for now this is my life and I could”t be happier!

2 thoughts on “Why I’m a Nanny

    • Thank you! We had a blast today. After lunch Z put on her suit and hopped into the kiddie pool while J played legos on the deck. Somehow we ended with them running around the yard and me making it “rain” from the hose!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

