Summer Swimwear

Now that summer is officially here, it’s time to get make sure you have the perfect swimsuit (if you don’t already have one)!

Finding a flattering swimsuit has proved to be an extremely time-consuming and stressful task for me. It seems like each suit I try on has something wrong with it. Each and every body comes with its own set of particulars – long torso, short legs, large bust, etc. Although, there are millions of options, it can be nearly impossible to find a suit to meet all your particular needs.

Besides my body shape, I have another particular. I believe in modesty and I want to honor God and others in the way I present my body. That is why I choose a one piece over the ever-popular bikini. I want my suit to cover my chest, include a high back, and have a decently cut bottom. That is a tall order in today’s swimsuit market!

For those of us ladies who are committed to honoring God with our bodies AND finding a cute suit, the options are limited. It can be very discouraging when there seems to be no cute modest suit options. However, it IS possible to find a modest suit that isn’t from the 50s (or maybe it is, but it is adorable :)).

If you want to dress modestly even while at the beach, I applaud you. It can be very difficult to go against society. Please know that you are not alone!

I’m not trying to force anyone to dress modestly or proclaim that anyone who doesn’t is bad. Rather, I am trying to encourage the girls who do and offer up something for others to think about. If you think that dressing modestly is ridiculous and is discriminating against women, please watch the video below. It gives an interesting perspective on swimwear and a new reason why you too, may want to try a one piece this summer.

I stumbled upon this video through social media and it has certainly given me some food for thought! I really appreciate Jessica’s message and what she is trying to do. If you want to check out Jessica’s swimwear line here is the link – reyswimwear

Now, for a little fun! If you are in the market for a cute and modest swimsuit here a just a few I found this year!

DSC 0505 grande

Source: Rey Swimwear

I love this suit! It is so adorable and classy!

Screen Shot 2013 06 20 at 12 32 37 PM

Source: Land’s End

This tankini is very similar to one that my cousin has and loves

SHIRRED CORALDOT F 225

Source: Lime Ricki

I love the polka dots on this suit! It’s also very fashionable with the trendy coral color!

One shoulder kelly F 225

Source: Lime Ricki

I love the green color and the ripples at the neck line

1479

Source: Shabby Apple

This suit has some classy vintage flare!

1475 1

Source: Shabby Apple

This is my pick! I love the blue and the extra length from the skirt!

Happy Swimming!! 🙂

* The above swimsuits are only suggestions. You will have to decide if they fit your body and its particulars modestly.

** I realize that this topic is one of controversy, but I welcome and appreciate all comments. However, please keep your comments polite and respectful. I think that one may disagree or give criticism without being nasty or rude. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

